Elko New Market mayor, council members picked

Current Elko mayor Kent Hartzler was elected the first mayor of Elko New Market. He will take office in January, after the merger of the two cities in southeastern Scott County. Hartzler received 568 votes while his opponent, Henry Zweber of New Market, received 460.

The city council will consist of three current council members and one former mayor. Josh Storlie of New Market and Dennis Melgaard of Elko, both current council members, earned the four-year seats on the council.

This section is for subscribers to the website only. Please login or subscribe to continue.