ENM Council reorganizes for new year

Patrick Fisher, Staff Writer

The Elko New Market Council organized for a new year on Thursday, Jan. 8, with the swearing in of a new mayor and council members and the recognition of those stepping down from the council.

Taking the oath of office was Mayor Jason Ponsonby and council members Denise Schneider, Bob Hanna and Jim Friedges. Mayor Ponsonby stepped up to the position from the council. Schneider and Hanna are new to the council after winning four-year terms in the November election, while Friedges won a special election to serve the remaining two years of a term. He had been appointed to the term after Josh Storlie resigned last year.

Outgoing Mayor Kent Hartzler and Councilmember Carolyn Miller were recognized with plaques for their years of service to the city. Hartzler began his public service with the Elko Planning Commission in 2001 and eventually was elected to the Elko City Council. He was elected the first mayor for the consolidated city of Elko New Market and took office when the consolidation became official in 2007.

Miller also began her service with the city of Elko on its planning commission in 1995. She also served on the city council and as mayor. She decided not to seek re-election after serving one term on the council of the combined city.

We had a great staff to work with

Suel Printing Company

Copyright © Suel Printing Company
All Rights Reserved
200 Main St E
New Prague, MN 56071

Phone: 952-758-4435
Fax: 952-758-4135

Latest articles

Wed, 04/25/2018 - 10:46am
Wed, 04/25/2018 - 10:43am
Wed, 04/25/2018 - 10:39am

Please Login for Premium Content