Filing period for general election is July 4-18

The 2006 filing period for elective offices on the state and county level begins Tuesday, July 4, and continues through 5 p.m. Tuesday, July 18.

Since July 4 is a national holiday, no one can file in person on July 4, however, that date remains the official day to start gathering signatures for those filing by petition.

The two-week period is held for people seeking public office, or those seeking re-election to their office.

Across the state, several elected positions are up for re-election.

Le Sueur County

Three of the five commissioners’ seats are up for election as well as other four-year elective offices.

Incumbents who are up for reelection are:

• Commissioner (2nd District) -Joe Connelly

• Commissioner (4th District) -Bob Culhane

• Commissioner (5th District) - Bill Stangler

• Attorney - Brent Christian

• Sheriff - Dave Gliszinski

• Recorder - Dave Sexe

• Surveyor - Rory Jensen

• Auditor - Ron Germscheid

• Treasurer - Joe Boettcher

Filing of affidavits of candidacy for all of the county offices can be made at the county auditor’s office at the Le Sueur County Courthouse in Le Center.

Scott County

Three commissioners’ races will be on the ballot, as well as two county-wide offices.

• Commissioner (1st District) - Joe Wagner

• Commissioner (3rd District) - Jerry Hennen

• Commissioner (5th District) - Jon Ulrich

• Attorney - Pat Ciliberto

• Sheriff - Dave Menden

Menden has already announced he is not running for a second term.

Rice County

Two commissioners’ races are on the ballot, as well as four county-wide offices.

• Commissioner (2nd District) - Jessica Peterson

• Commissioner (4th District) - Steve Bauer

• Attorney - Paul Beaumaster

• Sheriff - Richard Cook

• Auditor-Treasurer -

Fran Windschitl

• Recorder - Marsha DeGroot

Minnesota Senate/House

Two area seats in the Minnesota Senate and three in the House of Representatives are on the ballot in this year’s election. The seats, and the incumbents, include:

• Senate District 25 - Sen. Tom Neuville (R-Northfield)

• Senate District 35 - Sen. Claire Robling (R-Jordan)

• House District 25A - Rep. Laura Brod (R-New Prague)

• House District 25B - Rep. Ray Cox (R-Northfield)

• House District 35B - Rep. Mark Buesgens (R-Jordan)

Other elected officials

Also on the ballot in November, with filing periods open July 4-18 are the seat for U.S. Congress (incumbent Rep. John Kline), U.S. Senate (to replace retiring Sen. Mark Dayton) all of the state’s Constitutional Offices and some members of the Minnesota Supreme Court, Court of Appeals and District Courts. In addition, there are Soil and Water Conservation District seats open in all three area counties.

Those wishing to file for a county office should file at the county courthouse. Those interested in filing for the District 35 or 35B seats can file at the Scott County Courthouse in Shakopee. Those interested in filing for state office or for the District 25, 25A and 25B seats must file with the Secretary of State’s office in St. Paul.

Filing for New Prague city offices will take place in September.

Suel Printing Company

Copyright © Suel Printing Company
All Rights Reserved
200 Main St E
New Prague, MN 56071

Phone: 952-758-4435
Fax: 952-758-4135

Latest articles

Fri, 06/22/2018 - 2:15pm
Fri, 06/22/2018 - 1:59pm

Please Login for Premium Content