Le Sueur County Board reorganizes; Doherty elected chairperson for 2005

By Jake Keohen

The Le Sueur County Board held its reorganization meeting Tuesday, Jan. 4 and elected Joe Doherty of Le Sueur as chair of the governmental body for 2005.

Doherty succeeds Terry Hayes of Montgomery in the chair position.

Doherty represents District 3, consisting of the City of Le Sueur and Tyrone Township. Hayes is the District 1 commissioner, representing the south half of the City of New Prague, the cities of Montgomery and Heidelberg and the townships of Lanesburgh and Montgomery.

Second District Commissioner Joe Connolly of Le Sueur was elected vice-chairperson for 2005. His district consists of the City of Le Center and the townships of Lexington, Derrynane, Sharon and Cordova.

Filling out the five-member county board are Bob Culhane, Waterville, from District 4 (cities of Waterville, Elysian and Kilkenny and townships of Waterville, Elysian and Kilkenny) and Bill Stangler of St. Peter, representing District 5 (cities of Kasota and Cleveland and townships of Kasota, Cleveland, Ottawa and Washington).

Commissioners Hayes and Doherty were sworn into office by District Judge Richard Perkins at the start of the meeting since they were reelected to their positions in November.

In other actions or discussions, the board:

• Received the monthly county highway department report from Engineer Darrell Pettis. During his report, he said his department and other county highway departments throughout the state are eagerly awaiting news of any action on a bonding bill by the state legislature. Numerous bridge and highway projects have been put on hold because of inaction by officials in St. Paul.

• Gave consensus approval to Management Information Systems (MIS) Director Scott Gerr for purchase of 50 new computers and 15 monitors for county offices, as well as consulting services and various equipment. He said the new system should be up and running at or near the end of February.

• Approved County Assessor Dave Armstrong's request to contract with Vanguard Appraisals, Inc. of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, for software (license agreement) and maintenance (service). The request had been made at an earlier meeting but was tabled pending review by the county attorney.

• Was scheduled to hold a workshop with the bonding committee at 10 a.m. Wednesday, Jan. 5 and a workshop with the personnel department at 11:15 a.m. the same day.

Next meeting January 11

The next regular meeting of the county board is scheduled for 9:30 a.m. Tuesday, Jan. 11 in the commissioners' chambers of the courthouse in Le Center.

Suel Printing Company

Copyright © Suel Printing Company
All Rights Reserved
200 Main St E
New Prague, MN 56071

Phone: 952-758-4435
Fax: 952-758-4135

Latest articles

Mon, 06/25/2018 - 8:36am
Mon, 06/25/2018 - 8:35am
Sun, 06/24/2018 - 2:44pm
Fri, 06/22/2018 - 2:15pm

Please Login for Premium Content