Lundins are 32nd Norm Sladek euchre champs

The 32nd Annual Norm Sladek World Bohemian Euchre Tournament was held Saturday, March 22, at the KC Hall in New Prague. A record turnout of 160 teams competed for bragging rights, with the team of Howard Lundin and Becky Lundin of Burnsville defeating Gary Meyer and Brad Busch of New Prague for the championship. The championship series was a two-out-of-three contest, with one point separating the teams in each of the three games.

Lynn Hennen won the prestigious Trouba award, given to the player who makes the biggest mistake. She was nominated by her partner Heather Tietz.

Division winners were Bob McCue and Charlie Wagner, Mark Laban and Jim Ryan, Matt Rynda and Dusty Steinhoff, Sue Schmitt and Ed Shimota, Joe Hoffman and Jack Geyen, John Mullenmeister and Bill Sartor, Bonnie Simon and Ruth Tietz, Brad Busch and Gary Meyer, Marge Shimota and Bob Shimota, Todd Krenik and Mike Haferman, Fred Prchal and Bob Bednar, Karl Koenig and Ron Bruzek, Dick Hruby and Bill Marek, Ken Simon and Kevin Huss, Berna Kline and Gilbert Kline, Gordy Prochaska and Patti Mladek (standing in for Gary Hartmann), Mike Grundhoffer and Cletus Gregor, Becky Lundin and Howard Lundin, Joe Wagner and Dennis Palma and Kyle Simon and Tim Hoffman.

For the first time in the tournament's history, Norm Sladek was unable to attend. He was unable to attend due to his wife's illness.

The New Prague Snow Drifters Snowmobile Club hosted the event. Organizers said even with the record number of entries, at least 30 people were turned away.

Suel Printing Company

Copyright © Suel Printing Company
All Rights Reserved
200 Main St E
New Prague, MN 56071

Phone: 952-758-4435
Fax: 952-758-4135

Latest articles

Mon, 06/18/2018 - 4:40pm
Mon, 06/18/2018 - 3:28pm
Mon, 06/18/2018 - 10:16am
Sun, 06/17/2018 - 11:44pm

Please Login for Premium Content