Northfield hands netters first loss

With the rain playing havoc on their schedule, the New Prague Trojan boys tennis team finally started their first Missota Conference match of the season at home against Northfield Thursday, April 21.

However, rain halted the action with two of the matches still in progress. Northfield held a 5-0 lead when play was suspended. The two remaining matches will be completed later in the season, since the results could affect all-conference selections.

The Raiders swept all four double matches in two sets, playing for the Trojans were Kam Manthe, Kyle Chevalier, Aaron Hendrickson and Mackenzie Masberg. In the eight sets, the Trojans won only four games, with Masberg getting three of the wins and Kam Manthe the other.

The other completed match was at No. 3 doubles, with David Lim and Joe Hatch losing 6-0, 6-2.

Two matches were still in progress. Mason Johnson and Andy Roach were trailing in their match 6-3, 4-3 at No. 1 doubles, while Nate McNab and Billy Sonnek trailed 7-5, 2-1.

The Trojans lost a 4-3 decision to Mankato East Monday, April 25. Results were not available at press time.

New Prague was scheduled to face Orono on Wednesday, April 27.

The Trojans play at Fairmont at 4:30 p.m. Friday, April 29, and at Waseca at 4:30 p.m. Monday, May 2. They host Shakopee Tuesday, May 3, and Red Wing Thursday, May 5.

Rescheduled matches

The Trojans' match with South St. Paul originally scheduled for April 18 will be played at South St. Paul at 3:15 p.m. Tuesday, May 10. The April 19 match with Holy Angels will be played at 4:15 p.m. Monday, May 9, at Valley View Park in Bloomington.

Suel Printing Company

Copyright © Suel Printing Company
All Rights Reserved
200 Main St E
New Prague, MN 56071

Phone: 952-758-4435
Fax: 952-758-4135

Latest articles

Mon, 04/23/2018 - 4:30pm
Mon, 04/23/2018 - 4:23pm
Mon, 04/23/2018 - 4:21pm

Please Login for Premium Content