Polars prevail in Sno-Bowl

The 52nd annual Sno-Bowl was held Saturday, Dec. 31, at Memorial Park in New Prague.

The game features the Polars and the Ptarmigans, two teams of New Prague High School alumni, in a tackle football game. It has been played in the week after Christmas annually since 1960.

Friday evening's light snowfall partially eliminated the possibility of a Sno-Bowl without snow, but the small amount that fell did little to slow down the players.

Both teams utilized a fast surface and scored early, but then the game bogged down into a defensive struggle.

Late in the first half, Ptarmigan quarterback Ross Skluzacek set what is believed to be a record, throwing interceptions on two consecutive plays. Neil Fischer intercepted the first ball near his own goal line and returned the ball to near midfield, but then fumbled, with the Ptarmigans recovering. The play made Fischer an early candidate for Goat honors.

But Fischer redeemed himself on the next play, as Skluzacek threw another interception. Fischer held on to the ball this time and the Polars ended a scoring threat.

Ryan Puncochar of the Polars scored the game-winner in the second half on a run up the middle, giving his team a 12-6 lead. The Polar defense held tough the rest of the way for the win. The Polars upped their all-time record in the game to 30-15-7.

Puncochar was the offensive MVP of the game. Fischer was the defensive MVP and Nate Thomas was rookie of the year. Alex Michel was lineman of the year. Nolan Pumper was the game's MVP. He caught the first touchdown pass for the Polars and then replaced starting quarterback Eric Steinhoff who came up limping after a near sack.

The Ptarmigan's got their only touchdown on a run by Andy Zweber, aided by a great block by his brother Nick Zweber.

The goat award went to Andrew Wolf.

Suel Printing Company

Copyright © Suel Printing Company
All Rights Reserved
200 Main St E
New Prague, MN 56071

Phone: 952-758-4435
Fax: 952-758-4135

Please Login for Premium Content