TCU boys shoot their way 2nd MRC win

The Titans were on the attack when their hot shooting and energetic play toppled the Mayer Lutheran Crusaders at home on Thursday, Feb. 14, leading them to a victory of 65-57. Pictured above, Titans (from front to back) Andrew Feddema, Ryan Iverson and Pat Lloyd contributed 28 points to the effort, with Feddema taking the lead with 16. For more photos, visit and click on the Blue Button. (Lori Nickel Photo)

Titan Senior Connor Oak (above) lit a fire for the Titans with his quick play and spot-on shooting. He had a perfect night at the net hitting 2-for-2 on 2-pointers and 2-for-2 from long range. (Lori Nickel Photo)


The Tri-City United Titan boys literally shot their way impressively to a Minnesota River Conference victory over Mayer Lutheran last Thursday evening.
Final score was 65-57, but even more impressive were the shooting percentages logged by the Titans — 63 percent for 2-point field goals, and 72 percent on 3-pointers. The numbers included 85 percent on 6-for-7 from beyond the arc in the first half.
The hot shooting made things difficult for the Crusaders, who responded with 40 percent overall on 2-point attempts and 23 percent from long distance.
 ML 25    32  -  57
     TCU 39    26  -  65
The Titans took a 14-point lead in the first half and stayed close enough to the Crusaders in the second to protect the 8-point win.
Coach Andrew Meier had every reason to be pleased with the great balance in scoring put up by his cagers, with four players in double figures, an effort often faced by the Titans in losses earlier in the season, but reversed this time around. Senior Andrew Feddema led the scoreboard barrage with 16 points, followed by Alex Turgeon with 14, Pat Lloyd 12 and Connor Oak 10. Oak had a perfect night in putting the ball up, hitting 2-for-2 on 2-pointers and 2-for-2 from long range.
Nate Chadderdon, a junior, led the team in rebounds with seven.
Mayer Lutheran was led in scoring by Chad Anenson with 11 points, followed by four players with eight each — Joel Burfeind, Tanner Luebke, Anthony Gruenhagen and Brandon Wroge.