Two races on tap in New Market Twp.

New Market Township will have two choices for each of two positions on the ballot when voters go to thepolls on Tuesday, March 9.

The filing period for township offices ended Tuesday, Jan. 12, with both incumbents facing challengers in the eastern Scott County township.

Clerk Albert Zweber is being challenged by former town supervisor LeRoy Clausen, while supervisor Ken Chlan is facing a challenge from Becky Larson. Town clerks serve two-year terms and town supervisors serve three-year terms.

In Wheatland Township, in northwestern Rice County, no one has filed for either position. There will be a blank ballot when voters go to the polls. Incumbents are clerk Clarence Salaba and supervisor Ken Franek. A report in last week's paper that Franek had filed was incorrect.

In three other townships, incumbents have no challengers for their offices. Candidates for these offices are:

Cedar Lake Township

(Scott County)

• Clerk Arnita Novotny

• Supervisor Gerald Williams

Derrynane Township

(Le Sueur County)

• Clerk Cindy Jirak

• Supervisor Jim Kroyer

Webster Township

(Rice County)

• Clerk Todd Elwood

• Supervisor Joe Horejsi

Helena, Belle Plaine and Lanesburgh Townships have moved their annual elections to November, to coincide with the general election. They will not be holding elections this spring.

Suel Printing Company

Copyright © Suel Printing Company
All Rights Reserved
200 Main St E
New Prague, MN 56071

Phone: 952-758-4435
Fax: 952-758-4135

Latest articles

Sun, 06/17/2018 - 11:44pm
Fri, 06/15/2018 - 7:23pm
Thu, 06/14/2018 - 7:35pm

Please Login for Premium Content