Wright County Conference votes to admit New Prague


The Wright County Conference voted 10-1 to admit New Prague High School as a member beginning with the 2014-15 school year. The New Prague Area School Board is expected to approve the move at its June 24 meeting. 

No formal announcement has been made, however the vote was included in notes to the New Prague Area School Board for its workshop meeting to be held Monday, June 10.

The admission of New Prague would bring conference membership to 12, with the conference expected to split into two divisions based on enrollment for most sports. New Prague, the largest school in the conference, would be placed in a division with Waconia, Orono, Hutchinson, Delano and Holy Family Catholic. Other members are Mound-Westonka, Dassel-Cokato, Glencoe-Silver Lake, Litchfield, Annandale and New London-Spicer. 

New Prague has been a member of the Missota Conference for 35 years. The conference voted to disband earlier this spring after four of the eight schools announced intentions to leave after the 2013-14 school year. Shakopee and Farmington will join the South Suburban Conference, while Chaska and Chanhassen are two of seven schools forming the new Metro West Conference. Since the vote to disband, Northfield and Red Wing are headed to the Big 9 Conference. Holy Angels has not yet found a new conference. 

New Prague had earlier been rejected for membership by the Big 9 and Metro West.

Read more in the June 13 edition of The New Prague Times. 

Suel Printing Company

Copyright © Suel Printing Company
All Rights Reserved
200 Main St E
New Prague, MN 56071

Phone: 952-758-4435
Fax: 952-758-4135

Latest articles

Sat, 05/26/2018 - 3:05pm
Sat, 05/26/2018 - 9:06am
Sat, 05/26/2018 - 9:00am
Fri, 05/25/2018 - 10:24pm

Please Login for Premium Content