Julius elected mayor in Elko New Market


Elko New Market City Council Member Joe Julius defeated incumbent Bob Crawford and will become the new mayor of Elko New Market in January. 

Julius received 1,062 votes, while Crawford had 798. 

Incumbent city council members Josh Berg and Katie Timmerman were unopposed and reelected. Timmerman received 1,185 votes and Berg 1,148. Their next terms will begin in January and run through 2022. 

Dawn Seepersaud won the special election to fill a two-year term after a council member resigned this summer. She will assume office at the next council meeting and serve through 2020. Seepersaud received 885 votes, or 55.84 percent, and Jon Schwichtenberg recvived 694 votes, or 43.79 percent. 

Julius will have to resign from his council seat in January when he is sworn in as mayor. The council will decide how to fill the seat, either by appointment or with a special election. That person would also serve through 2020. 




Suel Printing Company

Copyright © Suel Printing Company
All Rights Reserved
200 Main St E
New Prague, MN 56071

Phone: 952-758-4435
Fax: 952-758-4135

Latest articles

If you would like to receive a FREE digital edition with a paid print subscription please call 952-758-4435.