Mason, Simonette win in LS County

Le Sueur County voters chose to keep incumbent Sheriff Brett Mason and incumbent Auditor/Treasurer Pam Simonette in office, along with three other county officials who were unopposed for re-election in county-wide races. 


They also returned two incumbents to the Board of Commissioners and chose Danny O’Keefe to represent District 2 on the County Board. 


Mason, who was appointed sheriff last year, defeated Keith Rozeboom 9,822 to 2,055 and will serve a four-year term as sheriff. Simonette received 8,585 votes to 3,081 for challenger Bob Emmers for another term as auditor/treasurer. 


Incumbent Recorder Sharon Budin,  Attorney Brent Christian and Surveyor Rory Jensen were all reelected without opposition. 


O’Keefe received 1,198 votes to defeat Maureen Franek, who had 1,096. The two had survived a seven-person primary in August to advance to this election.


Lance Wetzel was re-elected in District 4, receiving 1,405 votes to 948 for Joe Barber, and Steve “Gump” Rohlfing received 1,877 votes to 1,206 for Brandon Geldner in District 5. 


In Soil and Water Conservation District races, Greg J. Entinger and Earle Traxler won their elections unopposed.


Suel Printing Company

Copyright © Suel Printing Company
All Rights Reserved
200 Main St E
New Prague, MN 56071

Phone: 952-758-4435
Fax: 952-758-4135

Latest articles

Fri, 07/19/2024 - 12:18pm
Thu, 07/18/2024 - 12:07pm

If you would like to receive a FREE digital edition with a paid print subscription please call 952-758-4435.