Bartusek, Pexa, Giesen win board seats

As of 10:45 p.m., With 14 of 15 precincts reporting, it appears Tammy Pexa, Mark Bartusek and Leo Giesen have won four-year terms to the New Prague Area School Board. 


The only precinct that hasn’t reported is Lonsdale, and Lonsdale has just a handful of voters in the New Prague Area School District - not enough to overcome the 350-vote difference between the third and fourth place finishers. 


Vote totals are: 

Mark Bartusek 3991

Tammy Pexa 3868

Leo Giesen 3237

Sandy McMillan 2887

Matthew Goldade 2141

Miranda Vertnik 2111

There were 99 write-in votes. 


Bartusek, Pexa and Giesen will join the board in January, replacing Don Dvorak, Jerry Walerius and Sherry Brooks, none of whom chose to run for reelection. They will serve through 2022. 

This will be Pexa’s second go-around on the board. She previously served, but did not run for reelection due to a job situation. Her job situation has changed, prompting her to run for the board this time. 

Bartusek is a former New Prague City  Council member, who resigned when he moved outside the city limits. This was his second attempt at running for the board. 

This was Giesen’s first try for public office. 

They will join current board members Dennis Havlicek, Kytyn Schoenbauer, Jeanne Kubes and Kim Holden. Those four will face election in 2020. 




Suel Printing Company

Copyright © Suel Printing Company
All Rights Reserved
200 Main St E
New Prague, MN 56071

Phone: 952-758-4435
Fax: 952-758-4135

Latest articles

If you would like to receive a FREE digital edition with a paid print subscription please call 952-758-4435.