Election results of contested races

After weeks of campaigning, door-knocking, meeting voters, handing out literature, presenting information and answering questions, voters finally had their say Election Day, Tuesday, Nov. 8.
Polls closed several hours after The New Prague Times went to press. Results in local contested races between candidates are listed below. Details of precinct-level results will be available in the Nov. 17 print edition of The Times.

Results from contested races include:

New Prague Area School Board
With six candidates running for three seats, voters re-elected Mark Bartusek (4,148 votes) and selected Karen Steinhoff (3,903) and Dan Call (3,640) to serve on the school board beginning in 2023.
They declined the bids of incumbent Tamara Pexa (3,365) and candidates Jean Schmidt (3,390) and Paul Frykman (2,340).

Referendum questions
Voters in the New Prague Area School District soundly rejected the school board’s requests for additional funding for operations and technology. Passage of the two questions was proposed to increase the property taxes on a $300,000 house based on the 2021 valuation by about $30 per month.

Question No. 1 – Voters were asked to repeal the existing $246.70 per pupil student levy and replace it with $621.70 for six years. Voters declined the request, 5,746 to 3,775.

Question No. 2 – Voters were asked to approve about $1.5 million for educational technology over the next six years. They rejected the request by a 5,443 to 3,678 margin.

Legislative races
In Senate District 58, Republican Bill Lieske defeated DFLer Clarice Grabau, 21,125 to 18,854.
Voters in House District 58A liked DFLer Kristi Pursell over Republican Gary Bruggenthies, 11,362 to 9,481.
In House District 22B, Republican Brian Pfarr defeated DFLer Marcia Stapleton, 13,225 to 6,023.

County elections
In Scott County, voters returned Ron Hocevar to the county attorney’s office. He defeated Allen Andersen, 26,246 to 22,184.
Le Sueur County voters in the second commissioner district picked Danny O’Keefe over Dave Scheiber, 1,851 to 403. Voters in Le Sueur County’s fourth commissioner district favored David Preisler over Lance Wetzel, 1,174 to 1,086.
Rice County voters favored Jesse Thomas as sheriff over Ross Spicer, 17,910 to 7,056. The race for Rice County attorney was razor thin. Brian Mortenson topped John Fossum, 12,366 to 12,248.



Suel Printing Company

Copyright © Suel Printing Company
All Rights Reserved
200 Main St E
New Prague, MN 56071

Phone: 952-758-4435
Fax: 952-758-4135

Latest articles

Sun, 02/05/2023 - 7:25pm
Tue, 01/31/2023 - 8:50am
Mon, 01/30/2023 - 1:14pm
Mon, 01/30/2023 - 8:49am

If you would like to receive a FREE digital edition with a paid print subscription please call 952-758-4435.